The desk lamp

Furniture shopping. | January 13, 2009

I have moved in on Saturday night but the place is so empty with no furniture. So, my dear friend linda took pity on me and offered to stay at her place until I get at least a bed there. I straight away agreed. I didn’t really feel like staying in that house alone anyway. So I am now at her warm lovely flat eating her food away. hehehe..

The whole weekend (and Monday since I took leave) was spent on furniture shopping. It is not as cheap as I thought but I did get a few bargains from the winter sale. My bed and dining table will arrive next sat and that is the fastest delivery that they can do. The retail sector is unbelievably inefficient in deliveries. Ikea takes at least two weeks to deliver. Most of other shops take up to 24 days. I miss malaysia where you can even arrange the delivery on that day itself if you buy the item in the morning. In UK, it has become an acceptable norm for deliveries to be up to 24 days. I was damn lucky that my dining table and bed can be delivered in one week. No no… It was not due to luck really, it is more because I chose the item which can be delivered in a week. If I was to choose a different mattress or  table, the deliveries could be longer than that.

My puny brain can’ t really comprehend how can this so called modern country, with damn efficient public transportation can be so slow when it comes to this. No wonder many of the highstreet names are going bust. Even the big names like Woolworth, MFI and Wedgewood or Royal Doulton (yup…  this is the great time to stock up on those fine china ladies… next stop should be Stoke-on Trent!)

Linda has been so nice driving me around these last few days. She even let me borrow her credit card for my online purchases. Such a kind and amazing friend. We actually has lost touch for awhile.. hmm.. actually more like 7 years… when I went back to kl and she stayed in uk. And it is only 5 months ago that we started to chat up again. Thanks to facebook which reunited us and we fast became good friend again. She has been helping me a lot  since I came to London, and I can never thank her enough. Only Allah can repay her kindness.

I am so lucky that I have so many great friends in my life who always have my back no matter what. To each one of you, thank you so much. Missing you guys back home. Muahs muahs!!

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Haha….you’ll get used to it. The thing is, they do not stock nor have a delivery service at their disposal….not like “buleh buleh, nanti Ah Lim hantar dengan lori ini petang…” type of service back home. That’s exactly why most people here (at least in mainland Europe) have estate/wagon car which they can take home there and then without having to pay extra for transport delivery. The only things that we did not bring into our car are the kitchen, large almari and washing maching (free delivery). Yang lain semua angkut dlm kereta – katil, sofa, dining table, chairs…so, in the end, my house looks like almost an IKEA-themed showhouse….

    Comment by Hardy — January 14, 2009 @ 11:12 am

  2. omg… that slow?? and here we are always complaining about bad customer service here back home…

    patience is a virtue, eh?

    Comment by toughcookie — January 14, 2009 @ 4:01 pm

  3. It’s only after we came here then we realised that Malaysia is not that bad after all.

    Comment by Adam — January 15, 2009 @ 9:44 am


Leave a Reply

About author

We left the all-year-round sunny place to London in the middle of winter. These are stories of our lives here.

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

